Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 12/5/2005 11:12:30 AM EDT
At a holiday function Saturday night, I wound up in a discussion with some other gun owners regarding what to do if/when a person gets pulled over for a minor moving violation.  For the record, it's been over six years since I've been pulled over, so I'm a little "rusty" shall we say.  Here are my thoughts:

Turn off ignition.
If your windows were up, leave them up (or cracked about one or two inches)
Hands at 10 o'clock and two o'clock.
If LEO don't ask, I don't tell.

One of the other folks in the group said that it is best to have all windows rolled down before the officer approaches the vehicle.  YEAH RIGHT!  If I was a cop and I was walking up on a stop that had all of it's windows down on a cold rainy Western Washington night, I would be tip-toeing back to the cruiser for the 870.

This individual also mentioned that it is best to offer up your CPL with your DL since it is required by law you tell the officer anyway.  I could not find a specific RCW stating that you must tell if not asked, only that if asked-you must tell:

RCW 9.41.050
Carrying firearms.
(1)(a) Except in the person's place of abode or fixed place of business, a person shall not carry a pistol concealed on his or her person without a license to carry a concealed pistol.

(b) Every licensee shall have his or her concealed pistol license in his or her immediate possession at all times that he or she is required by this section to have a concealed pistol license and shall display the same upon demand to any police officer or to any other person when and if required by law to do so. Any violation of this subsection (1)(b) shall be a class 1 civil infraction under chapter 7.80, RCW and shall be punished accordingly pursuant to chapter 7.80, RCW and the infraction rules for courts of limited jurisdiction