Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/10/2013 3:54:23 PM EDT
I have been a CCDW Instructor in KY for 16 yrs. , I don't know it all and I don't argue ( too old and hopefully too wise ). Just had a person tell me since he had pistol training in the military he was exempt from the CCDW class in Kentucky. If that is true ( I read the CCDW regs. on the KSP website), how will he know the KRS's for Kentucky, the rules and regulations? Seems that if this lack of training is true, the liability would be great for both the Commonwealth and the military person with a CCDW and no classroom training. Let me hear from those of you that are instructors with knowledge of this.
BravoCharlie
Link Posted: 12/10/2013 4:46:59 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 12/10/2013 4:49:06 PM EDT
[#2]
Couldn't he just read the KRSs regarding CCDW?
They're all online now.
Link Posted: 12/10/2013 5:32:14 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 12/11/2013 5:19:52 AM EDT
[#4]
Makes you wonder why we have a CCDW course. Just let them read it on line and then we watch them shoot, or better yet they video themselves shooting on an I-phone and send it in. Just thinking out loud, sorry couldn't resist. I have had high ranking law enforcement folks sit in on my classes and then tell me they learned a ton of information they previously thought they knew.
BravoCharlie
Retired Educator/Administrator
Spec. Deputy
Mercer County Sheriffs Office
Link Posted: 12/12/2013 8:38:16 AM EDT
[#5]
I suspect these new forms that documents military handgun training will cause confusion to CCDW folks in richmond.

Heck, I can't even verify if they're real or not.

What I tell military members is you could risk a longer wait time due to confusion of these new documents being submitted.

20 rounds takes much less time...plus, who doesn't want to shoot??
Link Posted: 12/12/2013 5:35:59 PM EDT
[#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: