Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
1/22/2020 12:12:56 PM
Posted: 9/24/2007 7:32:43 AM EST
I am wondering if it is a law that you have to have a transfer/purchase permit to buy one, or if its just how FFL dealers do it. I would like to get a lower and because i am in WI during the week, its hard for me to get to a police dept to apply for a permit. As far as I have read there is no law saying i have to get a permit, so couldnt i just get one in WI?
Link Posted: 9/24/2007 7:46:27 AM EST
In MN, you need a purchase permit to buy a handgun or an AR receiver (and some other rifle receivers). PERIOD.

You can buy one of these F2F in MN, but as a WI resident, I am not sure that is legal as it is technically a purchase across state lines.

Check with your local authorities about the laws in WI, but my guess is that they are very similar if not identical.
Link Posted: 9/24/2007 8:21:57 AM EST
I am a MN resident but i live in WI when i am at school. Is it actually a law that I have to have a permit to purchase? Can i purchase one in WI without a permit to purchase if there law says I dont need one?
Link Posted: 9/24/2007 9:23:11 AM EST
The law of the state of residence is the kicker! MN Resdient means you have to have a permit to purchase or carry.

Originally Posted By djcslice:
I am a MN resident but i live in WI when i am at school. Is it actually a law that I have to have a permit to purchase? Can i purchase one in WI without a permit to purchase if there law says I dont need one?
Link Posted: 9/25/2007 8:13:00 PM EST
[Last Edit: 9/25/2007 8:14:49 PM EST by Bandit117]
Are you sure? Technically you are just buying a long gun, I dont think MN law applies in WI

ETA: Thats how I got my first AR lower, bought it from a shop about 60 miles from hudson
Link Posted: 9/25/2007 8:26:55 PM EST
The laws of the state of residence have to be followed.

Originally Posted By Bandit117: