Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/24/2006 4:04:38 PM EDT
Sorry if this is total noob question but can an Oregonian buy a handgun in Washington?

I tried doing a search on the subject but came up with practically nothing.

The prices across the border at Sportsmans Warehouse are so much better than some of the locals places here in Umatilla County.

Thanks in advance!
Link Posted: 1/24/2006 4:10:23 PM EDT
[#1]
Sure, just not at a WA gun show.
Link Posted: 1/24/2006 4:16:49 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks for the speedy reply WS4LIF.
This is good to know!
Link Posted: 1/24/2006 4:17:06 PM EDT
[#3]
For state-to-state travel, don't you have to go through an FFL?
Link Posted: 1/24/2006 4:40:02 PM EDT
[#4]
I bought handguns out of state a lot when I lived in that police state to the south of OR.  The answer is: yes you can buy it, but the FFL in WA has to send to a FFL in OR.  That is, you can't take it home with you across the border.

Then you'll have to pay FFL transfer fees, shipping, and you still have to go through the NICS (+ pay any background check fees ) here in OR before you can take it home.  THEN you have to go through any waiting period OR may have on handguns (sorry I don't know the laws here real well yet).

It might be worth it, it might not when you add up the extra costs + waiting time.  It was definitely worth in in KA when the only gun store in town was charging $800 for a Glock 27
Link Posted: 1/24/2006 4:51:42 PM EDT
[#5]
Well sheeeit...and it's only 30 miles away, lol...

No wonder it was so much cheaper.

Thanks anyway guys.
Link Posted: 1/25/2006 11:18:37 AM EDT
[#6]
Theres no waiting laws in oregon for rifle or handgun :)

Used to be!  But its gone!  (has been for years)

Make sure to pull out your ID to avoid the tax.

(Avoid the shipping and transfer by getting a WA licence and address or having your friend buy the gun for you)
Link Posted: 1/25/2006 11:37:12 AM EDT
[#7]