Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 3/1/2005 6:49:31 AM EST
I thought I would try the site of all knowledge on this off-topic question.

I am familiar with CA smog laws, but how does it work in AZ?

What are the vehicle years that are exempt from emissions testing, if any?

I have a 1978 1 ton truck, if it needs testing, what sort of thing do they look for? Visual equipment check? Hydrocarbons, CO? etc?

I am also a street rod/hot rod builder and would like to know if I build a 60's or early 70's vehicle, what can I get away with in the way of cam, aircleaner, exhaust, etc.

What are your experiences with the state emissions test sites?

If you can direct me to a site that is a better forum for these questions, I would appreciate that too.

Thanks,
Link Posted: 3/1/2005 6:54:38 AM EST
[Last Edit: 3/1/2005 6:55:03 AM EST by TheRedHorseman]
I'm fairly sure that any vehicle over 25 years old is emissions exempt, but I'm not 100% sure on that one.

I'll see what I can dig up
Link Posted: 3/1/2005 8:39:00 AM EST
Well I am not sure about all of AZ but Phoenix and surrounding areas are very strict. They do visual checks and they check for all the stuff you listed. To be exempt in Maricopa your vehicle has to be older than 1967.

Rob
Link Posted: 3/1/2005 8:57:01 AM EST
Here you go:

www.azdeq.gov/environ/air/vei/index.html

Everything you need to know.....
Link Posted: 3/1/2005 9:02:52 AM EST
Link Posted: 3/1/2005 11:15:04 AM EST
I went through county emission school 20 years ago when my dad owned several car lots but I don't remember shit.

I was thinking there was an exemption for trucks 1 ton and over. Maybe that is no longer the case.
Link Posted: 3/1/2005 3:34:25 PM EST
[Last Edit: 3/1/2005 3:35:55 PM EST by MP5_guy]

Originally Posted By wildearp:
What are the vehicle years that are exempt from emissions testing, if any?