Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/11/2009 11:32:03 PM EDT
I'd like to add a .357 or .44 magnum revolver to my firearm collection. I don't really know much about revolvers as I'm a semi-auto guy.

Any particular reason I should go .357 over .44 or vice versa? I'm leaning toward .357 right now.

The budget is under $500, new or used. It will just be a range toy.

Which revolvers should I be looking at?
Link Posted: 6/12/2009 12:12:48 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm no expert, but I would think it all depends on what you mean to do with it. I suppose if you were gonna do some hiking, the .44 would be best as a bear deterrent and all. For Home defense, I would think a .357 would do fine. In both you can use other ammo, either .44 Special or .38 special respectively. Also, I think .38 special is a lot cheaper. If you can find a nice Smith and Wesson used model, that would be nice. Maybe a nice used, pre-lock 686 or a Model 19 would be nice.
Link Posted: 6/12/2009 12:14:38 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
I'd like to add a .357 or .44 magnum revolver to my firearm collection. I don't really know much about revolvers as I'm a semi-auto guy.

Any particular reason I should go .357 over .44 or vice versa? I'm leaning toward .357 right now.

The budget is under $500, new or used. It will just be a range toy.

Which revolvers should I be looking at?

calber is up to you.  if the 44 gets you warm and fuzzy, the go for the 44.  same for the 357.

for 357s,

there are handfull to choose from.  if you are open to used, then it will open up alot of other choices.

Ruger GP100s are nice and built like a tank.  I have one for CCW eventho i dont carry it much.  i did use it for my IPDA training/cert for our local combat course.  

Ruger SP101.  more of a ccw revolver.  it really barks too.