Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/28/2017 3:25:31 PM EDT
Wanted to give my take on the new Trijicon HD XR's.  They are virtually identical to the standard HD sights, except the front sight is thinner.  I have been running HD on all my pistol since their release several years ago, and for my intended purposes they work great.  My only gripe was the overly wide front sight.  It made longer distance shots a bit more challenging.  Fast forward to today, and Trijicon has helped with that complaint by thinning out the front sight, IE the XR series.  I haven't had a chance to shoot them yet, but I don't expect them to be any different that my standard HDs overall. The front sight is noticeably thinner, however it still retains the high glow dot.  The front sight is now about the same width as most of the other manufacturers standard front sights, Hienie, Ameriglo, Dawson, etc. From just presenting the pistol I can easily see around the front sight better than the HD which should allow for more precise shot placement at shorter distances, and allow for easier shot placement at further distances.  

Now I don't think everyone should run out and replace their HD's with them, but if you are planning on purchasing a set of HD's or replacing and aging set, I would definitely go with these.  I would not be surprised if the HD sights are discontinued at some point, because the XR series offers everything the HD does, with the benefit of being easier to use at longer ranges.

A few images of the HD compared to the HD XR's.  

G17 with HD's

G19 with HD XR's

TXPO
Link Posted: 1/28/2017 4:07:18 PM EDT
[#1]
I like the thinner front sight.  I would prefer a red or orange ring though.
Link Posted: 1/28/2017 4:16:20 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote
The regular HD can be either orange or yellow. I would imagine this is the same.