Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Posted: 4/13/2017 9:18:08 PM EDT
Bought this at a gun show long ago, Value? I know its a 4 screw. And pinned barrell. Anything collectable?
S/N 80XXX

Link Posted: 4/13/2017 9:52:27 PM EDT
About 300 is my guess. If the finish was nice, I'd go 450... but I'm not an expert.
Link Posted: 4/14/2017 12:01:26 AM EDT
No, that's a 5 screw. It's a garden variety postwar K frame, probably original grips. Not terribly collectible because they made a pile of them, but great wheel guns, very well made. Looks like a 4". Probably late 40's, '48-'49-'50 going off the serial, '51-'52 at the latest. It would fetch about $400-450 max around here in that condition on a good day. Maybe $325-375 if you wanted to sell it quick.
Link Posted: 4/14/2017 9:33:23 AM EDT
Lots of guys with a lot of knowledge.
Post your pics up at:

www.smithandwessonforums.com

If there is not a screw on the bottom of the frame in front of the trigger guard, that is a 4 screw.
I don't see one in your pics.
Link Posted: 4/14/2017 10:54:17 AM EDT
Pre-Model 10. Likely shipped between 1949 and 51, but with S&W anything is possible. 4 Line, half penny sight, speed hammer, Magnas look original, pull the grips off and check Serial Number on back.

Have box and/or accessories? If so, likely worth in the 600 range. Without, anywhere from 400-500, depending on locale.
Link Posted: 4/14/2017 11:13:33 AM EDT
Serial number is the bottom of the butt your serial number probably came out of the crane area that is an assembly number I am pretty sure. Nice looking five screw- fifth screw is under the grip panel. All guns that have the four screw side plate had the screw in front of the trigger guard. Nice condition and with more pics and details may be worth a bit more
Link Posted: 4/14/2017 4:18:02 PM EDT
I know this, I like it.  
Link Posted: 4/14/2017 5:42:20 PM EDT
Don't kid yourself, all S&W pre-lock revolvers are collectible.