Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/1/2005 12:51:09 PM EDT
I am going to mount a light on my HD pistol (1911). I've narrowed it down to either the Surefire X200 or the P101/111 series. Does anyone have any experience with either light? The X200 seems like the way to go but very early on in their production one of my shooting friends bought one and after a few hundred rounds it broke. Is this common? It got me worried and leaning towards the P101/111 series.

Thoughts, experiences?

Thanks
Link Posted: 9/1/2005 6:51:11 PM EDT
Although I have no experience with either, I would pick the X200. I'll be making a X200 purchase in the near future for my HK.
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 7:12:00 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/3/2005 7:19:11 PM EDT by TxDoc]
I have experience only with the SureFire X200B. I had a Glock brand white light and wanted to try the SureFire. I have other SureFire products and know they seem costly, but always end up being worth the extra cost. Same here.

It is an LED and is not prone to the shock-induced failures with conventional lights with a filament. The light is a bluish light with a brighter center and a wide beam. The beam is not adjustable. It will blind you if you are looking at it when it is activated. The "B" version is the newest and is a 5 watt vs a 3 watt for the "A" version. As with other SureFire products, the fit and finish are great. I am glad I tried the X200B and would do it again.

I bought mine thru http://www.brightflashlights.com , a member on here-"Brightflashlights". Do a search for his name and see the comments about him. Google "brightflashlights" and you will get the same. I got prompt service, accurate order and kept aprised of my order status. Very good folks to deal with.

Check and see what others think about the other light, too. Hopefully, some folks will have both and give you a head to head comparison.