Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/4/2005 7:12:43 AM EDT
Has anyone out there purchased a parts kit and built a pistol?  I"ve seen kits for a Smith and Wesson Model 10 go as low as $50..  I'm sure 1911 kits are much more, but this might be an inexpensive way!

I've build AK's before so i have some knowledge and tooling..

Thanks, Jeff

Link Posted: 9/4/2005 10:20:13 AM EDT
[#1]
First, there are no usable revolver frames available.
Frames that are available are always either for much older models in which the newer model parts will not work, or the frames are defective and unusable.

Second, fitting parts to a revolver is MUCH different than assembling an auto pistol or AK.

Certain key parts like the cylinder assembly and barrel, REQUIRE very careful hand fitting and this requires special (expensive) tooling and gages.

The cylinder and ejector must be fitted to the frame since these regulate head space, cylinder end shake, timing, barrel/cylinder alignment, and other critical specs.
Fitting is done to a NEW ejector with a special holding fixture and either a milling machine, or a high-precision surface grinder.
NEW ejectors are usually factory-restricted items and aren't for sale individually.

The barrel is NOT "just a piece of threaded pipe" that can be screwed on or off as needed.
First the barrel shoulder must be cut to align the front sight at 12:00 o'clock, WITH the correct amount of tightness to fully screw in place.

Next, the barrel/cylinder gap must be cut to very close specs with a special (expensive) cutter tool that works down the bore.

Next, the absolutely CRITICAL forcing cone in the rear of the barrel must be re-cut to an extremely close spec with another cutting tool (expensive) that works down the bore, and it MUST be set to that critical close spec with a special plug gage.