Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 2/28/2006 6:56:22 AM EDT
Hey all,
Disclaimer: First off, let me say that this is NOT intended to start any sort of "flame war" or anything of that nature. Since I have no experience with Wilson, I want honest input from people with first hand experience.

Now, as many of you know, I'm thinking of getting a 10mm Delta Elite and then having it gently "massaged". Now, I also heard recently from Wilson, that they will be offering the CQB in 10mm. After contacting Larry at Wilson, he told me that it could also be ordered without front cockers (Halleluia!) AND with the YoBo pro grade rear sight (provided I buy it and send it to them). It already comes with a ramped match barrel, no MIM etc. Crunching the numbers actually goes in favor of getting the Wilson (instead of buying the DE for $800 and then putting almost twice that amount into it). However, on some gun sites people are saying things like "I'd rather get a DW and spend the rest on ammo", and "It's not worth the money", and "you get what you pay for". This last comment was made in a somewhat (for lack of a better term) condescending way. BUT it was coming from a guy who pretty much only shoots full house customs. So are some of these people giving sound advice, or are they just Wilson haters?

I have another "semi-custom", a Nighthawk, that I absolutely LOVE (Y'all have seen the pics...God knows I've posted them enough), and have NO regrets. However I have no experience with a "full custom" 1911, so to me, the Nighthawk is as good as it gets.

So, in a nutshell to all you current and former Wilson owners, would you say that a 10mm CQB built the way you want it is worth $2100? Or given the opportunity would you rather wait up to a year and spend $2500+ for a custom D.E. (remember, this is my first 10mm).

Thanks,
Rich

Link Posted: 2/28/2006 9:19:08 AM EDT
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 9:35:32 AM EDT