Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 10/23/2004 4:59:24 PM EST
I need some help/opinions. I am an avid handgun shooter and novice trap and sporting clay shooter. I have been shooting since I was 8 years old.

I own my father's Browning Hi-Power, which was manufactured back in 1971. It is in pristine condition, and my dad did extensive trigger work and machined on new sights (a LOOOOONG time ago).

I love the gun. However, every time I shoot it, it seems to jam. Not just once but 30-50% of the rounds that go through the gun jam. I shoot factory ammo through it (though I am not sure the brand...it is whatever my police department buys), and when I shot it on Friday, it kept malfunctioning again and again. It jams when a new round goes into the firing chamber, does not feed correctly, or double feeds.

Do you think it needs a factory tune up?
Do I send it in to FN? Can a gunsmith do it?
Or is it time to retire the gun?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. You can also email me at mfm691cfo@sbcglobal.net

Thank you very much!

Marcus
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 5:11:08 PM EST
John Blauvelt in NY State worked on my Hi Power.
It ran great when he was done.
Your dad may have massaged some of the parts a bit too much.
If you PM me, I will forward his info.
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 6:56:40 PM EST
Check for cracked or bent feed lips on the mags. Make sure youve got a firm grip on it. If your grip is too light your wrist soaks up the recoil thats needed to properly cycle the action.
Link Posted: 10/24/2004 12:12:19 PM EST
Link Posted: 10/24/2004 12:18:14 PM EST
Link Posted: 10/24/2004 4:41:15 PM EST
Swap mags & ammo, clean the shit out of the gun & feed ramp & oil the hell out of the slide rails & it should run like shit thru a goose.
Link Posted: 10/25/2004 5:06:12 PM EST
Thank you to everyone who responded. I am ordering a new mag and recoil spring tomorrow
Link Posted: 10/26/2004 6:31:17 AM EST