Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 3/2/2006 5:46:44 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/2/2006 6:35:14 PM EDT by KeithC]
This started off interesting, then became intriguing and now is just annoying. Got to talking guns with a woman at work and she mentioned her dad had given her one years ago, it "had jammed on her" and she never touched it again. I'm no expert on revolvers but have several and offered to give it a cursory inspection and a good cleaning (and teach her to shoot the damned thing!) and she agreed to bring it in to work for me.

My first impression is that the thing's hardly been fired. There's barely a hint of drag line around the cylinder. There are no impressions from fired cases on the recoil plate inside the frame. The finish is completely flat black - no gloss or "blue" to it at all, almost brown in color. I first thought she had some cheap knock-off that was wearing S&W grips. The barrel is a 4" taper, stamped with a fading "SMITH&WESSON" on the left side. There's no housing for the ejection rod but there is a lug to lock it. The flat over the rod is stamped with "V 72XXXX P" (big gap after the "V" - not part of the s/n). That s/n matches the butt (square butt, btw). The left side of the frame sports the S&W logo and "Made in U.S.A." It looks to be a 5-screw and the barrel is pinned. The front sight is a thin metal half-moon and the trigger is serrated.

Now it gets weird (for me, at least). The cylinder has the same s/n but is not recessed. There's a little divot half-under the cylinder release latch that I don't recognize. The hammer is the same flat-black - I'm used to it looking like heat-tempered steel. There is no caliber marking anywhere at all on the entire pistol. There's no model designation anywhere at all on the pistol, unless the tiny "K" stamped in the yoke and the grip frame counts.