Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/9/2003 4:44:18 PM EDT
I've narrowed my choices to these two pistols for IDPA/IPSC type shooting and eventually concealed carry. at the moment the XD9 is looking really appealing, cause of its lower price. the G34 is really priced a little too high to be considered. so what's your opinions on these two guns?

Edit: being a poor college student, i won't be doing any upgrades for quite some time with the exception of maybe sights.
Link Posted: 10/9/2003 5:38:03 PM EDT
[#1]
For competition I would go with the glock 17. There are more aftermarket parts for it, including high caps of greater than 16.

The XD has no true high cap mag in the USA due to the ban. You can use a xd 40 mag loaded with 9mm. You'll get 15 rounds in the mag plus one in the gun. Basicly you'll be shooting to slide lock or doing standing reloads when engaging typical USPSA arrays.

The glock has a lower bore axis and the trigger has a shorter reset. The Glock will just shoot faster. There are a whole bunch of aftermarket parts for the glock. Including 17 round high caps. With a extension you get 23+1. with that much ammo you may be able to engage some stages without even making a mag change. At the very least it'll give you more freedom in what order you engage targets, where you engage them from, and the ability to pick up missed shots. All in all lovering your time.

There are very few holsters for the XD, no magwells, no tungsten guide rods, extended mag releases, extended slide release, etc. So while it would be a decent IDPA gun, it is limited in USPSA as a production or L10 gun. In true IPSC it does not even qualify as production because of the trigger. USPSA may go the same way in the future, you never know. Then you'll be stuck shooting minor in L10.