Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 2/25/2006 5:37:50 PM EDT
Hello, everyone. So, i am getting ready to purchase an EGW barrel bushing for my Springfield TRP to tighten up the barrel bushing to slide fit. After I measure the inside of the slide and outside of the barrel I will be ordering very soon. Should I get the angle bore or the straight bore bushing? What is the functional difference? I am a machinist (finishing degree this semester) and am clear on fitting the bushing to barrel and slide and have heard really good things about EGW barrel bushings. My TRP shoots about 2 to 21/2 inch goups at 25 yds with WWB 230gr ammo (for me anyway) and the bushing to slide fit has a noticeable amount of play and looseness to it, so I am hoping to improve groups slightly with this, but wonder if angle bore versus straight bore will have any effect on accuracy or reliability. Thanks for any input.
Link Posted: 2/25/2006 11:50:16 PM EDT
Anyone?
Link Posted: 2/26/2006 4:51:04 AM EDT
Is the angled part of the bushing on the inside (barrel) or outside (slide) of the part? Some 1911 manufacturers use a barrel that has a slight cone shape to it so I'd assume the tapered bushing worul work with the tapered type barrel. My target 1911 has a straight bushing for maximum surface area contact so I'd assume you would use one with a straight (i.e. non tapered) barrel.
Link Posted: 2/26/2006 6:28:05 AM EDT
I'm not sure SGT Gold, but I am betting the angled part of the bushing is in the bore of the bushing, not the outside of the bushing. My springfield has no taper to it. It looks like the angle in the bore of the bushing locks up differently than straight bore and allow the barrel more clearance to tilt up and down during cycling, but I cant tell. Actually, that is why i am asking for others experience with EGW. On a second note, does anyone use EGW's oversize slide stop? I might look at purchasing one of these as well.