Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/18/2005 6:05:12 PM EDT
Can any of the Smiths here recommend a small and affordable bead blast setup for an amature gun smith?
Link Posted: 12/18/2005 10:36:54 PM EDT
[#1]
Google, CYCLONE BLAST CABINETS.   I've got one of there benchtop models at the house.  It's a good little setup.

Do go for the little larger version it's well worth the extra few bucks.
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 5:52:10 AM EDT
[#2]
I've been looking at theirs.  What all would I need to buy aside from the cabinet?  Air compressor, dust collector, media tank?  I've never used one before and have no idea what I'm doing.  Thanks
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 7:08:41 AM EDT
[#3]
Compressor, cabinet, glass beads, breathing and eye protection.  Thats about all.
The extra money for the dust collector is well worth it but you can get by without it.  It will just be a little messy.
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 7:58:08 AM EDT
[#4]
Great!  Thanks for the info.  Can a shopvac with a filter bag be used as a dust collector?
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 3:23:15 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 4:46:28 PM EDT
[#6]
Good deal...Appreciated
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 8:33:32 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:
Great!  Thanks for the info.  Can a shopvac with a filter bag be used as a dust collector?

You will end up clogging the bag in the shop vac way too fast.

Instead, use a 5 gallon bucket with sealed lid to pull the air in the cabinet down into the bucket (half full of water), then the water filter air into the shop vac.  This scrubs the cabinet dust into the water to collect the dust, and the vac stays dust free.  Also, you use a light switch dimmer in line to adjust the speed of the shop vac (read with the cabinet closed, there is too much of a vacuum in the cabinet with it running full blast, and you end up sucking the gloves off the seals.