Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/6/2008 6:26:13 AM EDT
 Im brand new to shooting handguns, and I suck.  Ive been to the range 4 times with my new XD9.  Im finally getting decent groupings, but they are off to the left about three inches (at 20 yrds).  I shoot right handed, and I think this may be caused by a slight twist in the gun when I pull the trigger.  I shoot my rifles with the 1st pad of my index finger, but Ive been told to shoot hand guns with the first crease.  I havent had a chance to try both ways yet.... just happy Im finally getting groupings.
Link Posted: 7/6/2008 9:21:23 AM EDT
[#1]
It is you...
Pad or crease ...It is what works for you.

Be slow and deliberate..Breath Aim squeeze

PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE

Dont have so much of a death grip on too
Link Posted: 7/6/2008 4:38:28 PM EDT
[#2]
First thing is to use the PAD of your finger & NOT the joint to pull the trigger back.

Next, do a LOT of dry firing at home & watch the front sight while you pull the trigger. See if it goes left, down, whatever. Once you can have a perfect pull for 15-20 times in a row w/o the front sight wandering all over the place, then you should be good to go, IMO.

Good luck!
Link Posted: 7/6/2008 6:59:36 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
 Im brand new to shooting handguns, and I suck.  Ive been to the range 4 times with my new XD9.  Im finally getting decent groupings, but they are off to the left about three inches (at 20 yrds).  I shoot right handed, and I think this may be caused by a slight twist in the gun when I pull the trigger.  I shoot my rifles with the 1st pad of my index finger, but Ive been told to shoot hand guns with the first crease.  I havent had a chance to try both ways yet.... just happy Im finally getting groupings.