Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/1/2003 3:15:28 PM EDT
I have a Colt 1991A1 combat commander. It has a parkerized finish with black rubber grips and combat sights.

I'm wanting to make a few changes to it and I'm wandering how much trouble would it be.

Everything I plan on changing on it will be in stainless and mostly for cosmetic appearence.

1.barrel
2.full length guiderod
3.bushing
4.slide release
5.mag release
6.trigger (aluminum)
7.beaver tail safety
8.mainspring housing with mag guide
9.hammer
10.sear
11.thumb safety
12.wood grip panels and stainless hexhead screws
13.and all the pins I want to change to stainless as well.

Will many of these parts have to be fitted by a gunsmith or is this something I can do myself? I've never customized any 1911 style pistol before.

Most of the parts I've seen in catalogs say drop in but I wonder if they really drop in or need minor fitting.

Also the beavertail safety I saw from S&A say you need a .250 radius fitting jig. Whats the jig for? I thought the beavertail was just slid into place and held in by the thumb safety.

Can anyone give me any good advice on the modifications I'm wanting to make?

One more question before I forget. Whats the difference between the Government, Commander, and Officer models of 1911 pistols?
Link Posted: 6/1/2003 3:18:56 PM EDT
[#1]
I've done jsut about all of that... and most of it is no big deal. The one place you may need some gunsmitihng/machining is with the guide rod. My father picked up a "drop in" version. Not so. IT needs some reliefs machined into the back piece. Everything else is pretty much drop in. Make sure the barrel is drop in.... some of the older barels won't fit properly. FAC has some half decent stainless barrels that are drop in.
Link Posted: 6/1/2003 4:50:54 PM EDT
[#2]
I've customised a few 1911 style autos over the years, including some of the 1991A1 Colts.