Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/16/2003 8:11:32 PM EDT
On Berettausa.com they have both listed under full size pistols.  What is the difference between them?  I'm new to the beretta world.
Link Posted: 9/16/2003 10:20:42 PM EDT
[#1]
The Brigadier has a bit beefier slide & the muzzle is flush with the slide instead of extending past it, IIRC. Seems like the hammer is slightly different too but I'm not certain on that.

I own a 92FS, damn fine gun. Be prepared to pay for a trigger job though.
Link Posted: 9/17/2003 12:20:25 AM EDT
[#2]
Thanks a bunch! I am leaning towards the 96FS.
Link Posted: 9/17/2003 4:45:40 PM EDT
[#3]
The difference between a regular FS and a regular FS Brigadier is that the Brigadier has the heavier, reinforced slide and different sights.  The thicker slide allows them to use a dovetailed front sight so they are easier to replace.

There are numerous other versions that can have different hammers, triggers and or barrels.  For example, the slightly shorter barrel that is flush with the end of the slide was done at the request of the Border Patrol and was initially only available on the special edition 'Border Marshall' model, which had the heavier slide, the flush barrel and tritium sights.
Link Posted: 9/17/2003 9:26:27 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
Thanks a bunch! I am leaning towards the 96FS.

Allow me to say the .40 is a solution looking for a problem. IMO, it'll do nothing a good 9mm rd won't do. Except maybe have high pressure.

Seems like I see 92 hi-cap mags much more often than the .40 hi-caps.
Link Posted: 10/8/2003 5:41:10 PM EDT
[#5]
I bought a new stainless 92 brig about 5 years ago and its the best shooting, looking, and most reliable pistol in my opinion. I would expect the same from the 96
Link Posted: 10/9/2003 1:26:45 AM EDT
[#6]
96 Brig has the beefier slide as mentioned, dove tail front sight too. The regular 96FS Brig has the standard 4.9" barrel.