Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/20/2006 3:53:01 PM EDT
Until I actually get around to mounting my Dillon on my bench I have been limited to using factory ammo to shoot matches.
I had been buying Remington 230gr ball from CTD at about $10.00 per box of 50.
Last Saturday they were out, so I picked up some Fiochi 230gr ball for the same price.
I had sighted in my pistol for dead on at 25 yards- the range the falling plates are. The Remington had been hitting center of the plate.
I started shooting the match and was missing several plates in each string. It was hard to tell where at first since it was raining and the plates blended in with the berm behind them. Then we noticed I was hitting very low. I started aiming at the top of the plates and hit pretty much in the center.

My question is- is the Fiochi ammo that much hotter than the Remington?
That is all I could think of to account for the difference.

I am going to start handloads ASAP with some 185gr lead bullets with a slightly mild load of Unique so I know I'll have to adjust the sights, but the Fiochi surprised me. It even felt hotter- more recoil.

Thanks,
Jim

Link Posted: 3/21/2006 6:17:01 AM EDT
[#1]
I must have shot a dozen different 230 gr factory loads through three different 5" 1911's. Not only did each gun have a slightly different POA\POI, but each different ammo shot a little differently through the same gun. There was enough of a difference at 25 yards to miss Bianchi plates with one brand, but hit them with another.
Link Posted: 3/21/2006 7:15:15 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 3/21/2006 8:20:19 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted: