Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/16/2008 1:42:29 PM EDT
I'm an EMT working in our regional trauma center. I've applied at the city fire dept, did the physical screening and was in the process of the background check.

Now this thing is huge. 35 pages, asking detailed shit that was not even on my DOD security clearance from back in the day.

they want account numbers, a half dozen character witness phone #s and information that noone has any good reason to posess. They even want a chronological life history statement from birth to present written narrative style in cursive.

What really pissed me off is for those (not me) who are widowed, the location of where our spouse died. have
I want to get on with a department but is this scrutiny common in field??? My best figuring, is they are doing it to screen out all but the most upstanding citizens for consideration.
Link Posted: 7/16/2008 1:51:15 PM EDT
[#1]
For a fire dept?

How much info do you need to figure out somebody isn't gonna steal stuff from a house they enter?

What else is there for a fireman to do wrong?
Link Posted: 7/16/2008 1:53:27 PM EDT
[#2]
Not necessarily. I've heard of people saying they were "too clean" or something to that effect. Now wether or not that is true, who knows, they could just be covering up other reasons. My father in law is a Paramedic and he has a really clean history, but so is my brother in law and he has nothing even resembling a clean record. So take that for what it's worth.
Link Posted: 7/16/2008 1:59:26 PM EDT
[#3]
Sounds like the same thing I've filled out several times for hiring processes.

It's possible that since the FD doesn't have it's own background investigator, that the PD is running it, and that sounds exactly like a PD background package.