Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/13/2004 6:05:13 AM EDT
i have been working contract engineering for the last several years and got a lead on a new job.  
I got a call Friday about 4:00 pm from an engineering company in the north east.  
It was from the head of the I&E dept.  the guy was named something like Samier Abodulahaka.  He spoke with a very thick mideast accent and wanted to conduct a telephone interview with me right then.  I told him I was unavailable and… then he interrupted me and said I must be up at work and have other people in the office and would not be able to talk to him.  He seemed very excitable and asked when he could call me back.  I said I could…  he interrupted me again and told me he would be calling me about 6:00pm cst (if that was ok?)  i said that was fine.  he hung up.  the little I talked to him this guy sounded arrogant and I don’t think it would be a good fit.  If I needed the job I may have continued to “entertain” the offer but.  As I have a job I don’t need to move half way across the country (from Texas) to work for a loud mouth rag head.  
Link Posted: 9/13/2004 6:41:26 AM EDT
[#1]
Leaving TX to go anywhere in the NE to work for a raghead would never be a good thing.  You made the right choice.
Link Posted: 9/13/2004 6:47:42 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
As I have a job I don’t need to move half way across the country (from Texas) to work for a loud mouth rag head.  

I don't think it's really necessary for a bigot to move halfway across the country either.

You know, it's quite possible your interviewer thought highly of you as well.
Link Posted: 9/13/2004 7:14:26 AM EDT
[#3]
Are you actually sure that it was a middle eastern accent? Could it have been Indian? You don't want to work for someone because of their accent? As long as you don't need the job it's ok...
Link Posted: 9/13/2004 7:17:02 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 9/13/2004 1:45:50 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted: