Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 2/28/2006 9:44:07 PM EDT
Long read ahead, but I could use some advice here. Thanks.

I’ve been considering LE work for a few years now (I’m in college currently). I’ve done 3 ride-alongs now, and I’ve had fun, and had my eyes opened. The first two were a big testosterone trip. I thought it was cool and badass, I learned a few things this last time out though.

first up, we got called by a detective to go transport a burglary suspect. The detective beat us there and already had the man cuffed and was asking for consent to search, which he got. The suspect is an old, craggly guy that needs a cane to walk. He has a generally pleasant demeanor and asks some easy going questions as to the nature of the detective’s search. They go in the house, look around, the detective comes back out with the suspect, the officer I was riding with, and a few belongings (a tape recorder, and something else I don’t know what). We transported him back and took him up for questioning.

The detective starts really grilling this guy. I actually was getting a tad miffed and how the detective was going about this. Kept talking down to him, and just really giving it to him. The guy did have a lengthy record- so that should have been a giveaway for me that he might be other than honest when talking to a detective. Anyway as it turns out this detective has found the rightful owner’s name carved in everything- so it was pretty easy to get the guy to confess. About then another detective walks by the office and says is that “thomas xxxxxxx?” then he say he needs to talk to him and gets a confession of another theft of a 52” TV- I thought that was pretty wild, especially since I didn’t think this guy waseven physically capable of any of that.