Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 1/4/2006 3:27:42 PM EDT
One of my computers has a virus that ties up the computer if it even thinks it can connect to the net, I am on dial up.

What does it take to reformat and reinstall windows xp home edition?

I ran some searches and read about boot discs and some folks say I need it and some say I do not.

Library books are outdated since they don't cover xp, but I got a couple and am learning some other things anyway since I am a newb on computers.

Anyway, if I replace a hard drive I think I have to do the same thing as I will do if I reformat and start over so I may as well start learning and fix my ignorance.

I would love some good computer sites to read on, there are so many out there I could not decide what to use to educate myself since comparing some of them gave conflicting info.

The virus mentioned above is not the only virus this computer has, basically the computer has enough junk messing things up I would rather start over than try to save any info on it. I mostly surf the net with it and can replace what is on the hard drive.
Link Posted: 1/4/2006 3:30:28 PM EDT
All you really need is an XP home edition CD that is bootable...to test this you can plop the CD in the drive and reboot. If it's bootable you should see the option to 'press any key to boot from CD'.
(you will need to make sure your CD drive is set to be the first in the boot order, which is done through the bios settings, typically you press F10 or Delete several times to enter the bios right as you see the hardware splash screen come up)

Z
Link Posted: 1/4/2006 4:12:26 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/4/2006 4:13:23 PM EDT by Appelsientje]