Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/3/2005 3:49:35 PM EDT
I'm looking for some good quality but inexpensive calipers and micrometers to use for my 1911 tinkering and fitting.  Can someone lead me in the right direction.  Also, I've never used these before, but I'm assuming they're as simple as they sound.  Thanks for the replies.
Link Posted: 10/3/2005 3:51:13 PM EDT
[#1]
I bought a low-cost mic from Victor Machinery (i think?) for like $25.  Worked well enough for what I used it for.  Unless you know you need it you don't need to get a $100 starrett.  Google for how to use them, also try mini-lathe.com I believe he has a tutorial.
Link Posted: 10/3/2005 3:53:02 PM EDT
[#2]
Brown & Sharpe are good ones to use for general gun work. I have a 6" dial caliper and a 1" micrometer for use in reloading and general gun work.
You can get them at a MSC shop.
Link Posted: 10/3/2005 3:54:16 PM EDT
[#3]
Might be overkill for you but I use Mitutoyo mics and calipers everyday. You cant go wrong with them.
Link Posted: 10/3/2005 3:55:09 PM EDT
[#4]
my choice is starrett... look in pawn shops, sometimes you can get great deals.
Link Posted: 10/3/2005 3:56:17 PM EDT
[#5]
harbor freight sells a 6" (and other sizes) Digital Caliper
It does Metric/SAE and good to 0.001 IIRC
for about $20 on sale, if they're accurate enough for you, then it's  a good deal.

I checked mine against some Starret Standards and they were right on the money.

Now don't get me wrong, I love my Starret measuring tools, I have a collection of calipers, mics and assorted other goodies that started with a couple of gauges given to me by my grandfather.  You can NOT replace good quality tools.
Link Posted: 10/3/2005 3:57:36 PM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:
my choice is starrett... look in pawn shops, sometimes you can get great deals.

I have been in MANY pawn shops, I have YET to see a good deal on ANYTHING!