Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 3/9/2002 12:17:23 PM EDT
I read alot of posts that have this statement in them. I'm assuming this means that the assault weapons bans could expire after a certain amount of time. Could someone explain this to me?
Link Posted: 3/9/2002 2:00:33 PM EDT
Basically, if the AW ban isn't renewed in 2004, it no longer exists. This works for us mainly because politicians need to get off their asses and fight over it again. I'm studying gun control law in Fordham Law right now and from what I can gather about cases and such, I expect it to sunset. I don't think with Bush in office that this one will fly again, especially since it hasn't reduced crime one bit.
Link Posted: 3/9/2002 2:04:05 PM EDT
Originally Posted By Minman72: I don't think with Bush in office that this one will fly again, especially since it hasn't reduced crime one bit.
View Quote
From your lips to God's ears brother!
Link Posted: 3/9/2002 2:18:42 PM EDT
Thanks for the info. So if the ban sunsets will all postban rifles be able to have all the so called evil features?
Link Posted: 3/9/2002 2:21:25 PM EDT
Originally Posted By jtw2:
Originally Posted By Minman72: I don't think with Bush in office that this one will fly again, especially since it hasn't reduced crime one bit.
View Quote
View Quote
What in the hell are you talking about? Think of all the lives of little children, butterflys and puppies saved by the removal of those horrible bayonet lugs! You guys are sick...really! Robby
Link Posted: 3/9/2002 4:45:07 PM EDT
Hmm, the AW ban made all those preban guns rare, and expensive right? And if it sunsets, noone will make any more postban configured AR's. So my postban rifle should rise in value! I think I'll go buy 20 postban Bushy's and sit on them till 2004. [:D] Then I'll sell them all at $2000 each!!!
Link Posted: 3/9/2002 5:14:23 PM EDT