Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/6/2013 11:37:44 AM EDT
I'm looking at a layoff coming up. It's my time to go to college and get edumacated.

I'm considering aerospace engineering, then try to be a liason engineer for one of the following:

Triumph aerostructures-contractor for many makers
Bell- multiple plants i the area
Raytheon
L3

I have hyd and airframes experience, then at current job it's all airframe, fuse panels, vert and hori stabs, aft bodies, pressure domes....

Anyone work in that area can tell me anything about it?
Link Posted: 9/7/2013 5:24:48 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm a liaison engineer at a large aerospace company. What do you want to know (specifically)?

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
Link Posted: 9/7/2013 10:00:45 AM EDT
[#2]
Course study, degree, work  type you do, thatsort of thing.
Link Posted: 9/7/2013 10:45:13 AM EDT
[#3]
<<< Civil-degreed engineer, which I freely admit is easier than aerospace; however even the "easy" engineering programs are hard.
How are you with advanced math?  You'll need a minimum of 10 hrs calculus (possibly more) and at least one semester of dif eq.
That's for any legitimate accredited engineering degree; the specifics will depend on your school and program.  
All physics and chemistry courses will likely need to be calculus-based as well; forget that 101-level stuff you may have taken already.
Did I mention the math?  There is some math involved.  Not trying to scare you off; just understand that this is not an easy goal you've set for yourself.  
You have to want it and want it bad; you have to have that fire inside that keeps you at home crunching homework while your friends are living life and having fun.
Get through it, network the whole time, and there is a payoff at the end.  Take internships if available.
The aero guys will have to give you the current outlook for that particular field.  
Link Posted: 9/7/2013 12:47:23 PM EDT
[#4]