Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/16/2002 6:11:27 PM EDT
Here it goes...
I have always wanted to be a a pilot, especially a helicopter pilot, which can never happen by private means(most job postings require 3000 hours experience). I have, over the last few years had a growing desire to serve my country. I figured maybe it was time to sack up and join.

I have a masters degree in MIS - think IT degree and currently work at a large company making good money but am not sure if the corporate world is for me. Anyways that is another tangent. I am in good physical shape and have excellent vision.

I am 24 years old and have been talking with a guy at work who is army reserves now and recommended the Warrant Officers program as a way to become a pilot.

I know I should probably go talk to a recruiter but I wanted to gather more information before I hear their side.

Some questions of the top of my head are:
1) What type of guarentee can i get that I will become a pilot and not just get stuck doing IT stuff in the army?

2) Following number 1, if I cannot fly can i be released?

3) What type of commitment is required 4 - 7 - 10 years?

4) What requirements do they have?

5) What should I expect if I do it?

Any other advice for becoming an aviator?

Thanks in advance
Link Posted: 9/16/2002 8:00:51 PM EDT
[#1]
persue your dreams!

I wanted in the Warrant officer school for flying back when.. was told  "...minimum 2 year waiting list..." I didn't verify it, just took it as that and didnt persue it.

I did have a friend that was a WO3 flying UH-60's (blackhawks)  dont recall why he got out, but the helicopter pilot job market is(was?) literaly overflowing with too many pilots.

I have many rides in the choppers... NOE is the sh!t! [:)]
Link Posted: 9/16/2002 9:13:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/18/2002 1:28:18 AM EDT
[#3]