Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/18/2001 8:48:00 PM EDT
Let me start by saying F**K Chicago!!.

I live here, and the more I see about it's gun laws, the more it sucks.  I can't wait to finish school and move.

Because I am a Chicago resident, I need to store all my guns (I don't believe in registering firearms--even the few I own that are "legal" here, so they ALL stay out of Chicago's jurisdiction) outside the city limits.  

I just bought 2 very different .45 ACP pistols.  I had forgotten about the Multiple Purchase certificate until my dealer mentioned it.  They came from different dealers and got to my dealer at the same time.  Now Chicago has or will have my name from the ATF.  The purchase is legal--there are no restrictions on the number of handguns you can buy in IL, I have my FOID card, followed the 3 day wait, etc.  But I figure Chicago will give me some hassle eventually.  I just hope it is enough that I can get the media (conservative media, ISRA, etc.) involved.  I couldn't even pick the pistols up after the 3 day wait, because I had to have enough time to get the guns and get them to where my guns are stored.  Occasionally, life sucks.

Now to the .45 related stuff-- the two guns I got (traded for one, bought another) are a Colt Combat Commander (blued, Series 80) and an HK USP (Variant 1).  To me, they represent both ends of the .45 spectrum--an 80+ year difference in design history.  The Colt is a Classic--a functional work of art.  Every time I pick one up (I have a Kimber and a Colt Combat Elite already), I realize how much of a Genius John Browning was.  The USP has most of the new technology--high capacity for a .45, decocker, polymer frame, integral rails for lights, double action, etc. but in the end, the Colt has a more  substantial feel to it.  I can appreciate the USP as a well designed technological wonder, but it doesn't have the same "feel" as the Colt.