Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/21/2013 1:39:19 PM EDT
I just recently started doing wood work. Nothing fancy, since I'm an extreme novice (actually, I'm probably at whatever step is below a novice). The two things I've made were a shoe/boot rack, and a hat/mitten rack. Both items were made as solutions to problems (needing a way to organize everyone's shoes/boots in the entryway closet; a place for my kids to put their winter gloves/mittens when they come in). I enjoy working with wood, and have already set my sights on bigger endeavors. But, before I try my hand at a making a mahogany bedroom set I'd like to craft more basic stuff to better my skills, and I'm hoping to glean some pearls of wisdom from those more skilled in the woodworking trade than I.

The biggest problem I've encountered is I'm struggling to make precision cuts. I've got a miter saw (and just bought some nice new blades) but for some reason when I want to cut lengths of wood the same length I'm always off by anywhere from 2-4 mm. Normally I measure with a tape measure or ruler, use a right angle to draw my line, then cut just to the right of my line (versus on the line). What am I doing wrong? Why am I always off on my cuts by 2-4 mm when trying to cut multiple pieces the same length?

The second issue I'm struggling with is rounding edges evenly. Say you have a square shape length of wood and want one corner rounded. What is the best method/tool to accomplish this? I tried using my sander, but that was a disaster.