Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 9/20/2009 7:49:41 AM EST
For a 10.5" 9mm. I have never used a rail system before. I had a KAC system once but I traded it off without ever mounting it.

I hear a lot of good things about the Daniel Defense Omega rails - well warranted or is it just OK?
I also hear Midwest Industries tossed around a lot but I don't know anything about them.

Any ideas?
Link Posted: 9/20/2009 7:58:23 AM EST
I have the regular MI 2-piece rails on my AR and I like them well enough, but if I had to buy another set I'd go with LaRue simply because I can afford to now
Link Posted: 9/20/2009 7:59:31 AM EST
[Last Edit: 9/20/2009 8:01:10 AM EST by bdhsnake]
Link Posted: 9/20/2009 8:01:19 AM EST
DD Omega 7 for the win, but if you have the gunsmithing tools - LaRue without hesitation.

Link Posted: 9/20/2009 8:01:31 AM EST
What do you plan to mount?

Rails generally have a significant weight penalty. If you just want to mount a sling and BUIS or something weight would be my primary concern.

DD rails are some of the lightest for 4-rail setups, have not run one, but have handled a few carbines with DD rails installed.

No comment on MI, I have no experience.
Link Posted: 9/20/2009 8:02:42 AM EST
Originally Posted By GabRanch:

Rails generally have a significant weight penalty. If you just want to mount a sling and BUIS or something weight would be my primary concern.

DD rails are some of the lightest for 4-rail setups, have not run one, but have handled a few carbines with DD rails installed.

Probably just a VFG, BUIS (front and rear) and a sling.

I'm not a gear queer, haha. I just want the options. The 9mm SBR will basically be a range toy.
Link Posted: 9/20/2009 8:06:49 AM EST
I have a Daniel Defense Omega 7 on my 6920 and its teh awesome. Rock solid and totally in spec, unlike the Surefire unit I used to have on there.

Omega FTW
Link Posted: 9/20/2009 8:07:28 AM EST