Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/28/2001 11:48:28 AM EDT
Hi,

I'm not trying to start a flame war, just looking for some honest answers.  I'm really new to the gun thing (got my 1st gun about a year ago) and only been into the politics for the last several months.

So what's wrong with the instant background checks?  I'm curious as to what the cases for and against it are, like the dreaded gun show loophole, etc.  Please no flames, I'm looking for informative answers here.
Link Posted: 12/28/2001 12:08:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 12/28/2001 12:13:52 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 12/28/2001 1:00:15 PM EDT
[#3]
The "right to keep and bear arms" inherently includes the right to obtain them. With NICS, you have to ask the federal government for permission to exercise that right. Legislators tried to eliminate (or hide) the intrusion by making the background check "instant" - but it's not "instant" for about half of buyers, taking up to 5 days (long enough that the impact on sales destroyed the best gun shop in my area as customers got sick of driving a significant distance, only to be told to come back later). That's assuming NICS is on-line, which it frequently isn't for days at a time, especially around major anti-gun events (like the "Million Mom March" - NICS was unavailable the whole weekend); they claim that there's no political agenda, but facts indicate otherwise.

NICS is far from foolproof. The database is a haphazard mix of legal records assembled from unreliable sources. If your name is at all common, you may very well get mixed up with some lawbreaker with the same name, and have your purchase request denied until you can prove you're not him. So much for YOUR right to buy a gun.