Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
12/6/2019 7:27:02 PM
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 6/1/2008 11:07:48 AM EST
[Last Edit: 6/1/2008 11:44:04 AM EST by Persephone]
I need something on the shorter side since I only have a 32" inseam and I'm new to riding. I don't think starting off on tip-toes will build much confidence. I tried riding my brother's bike and it was so tall and so heavy I would lay it down every time I came to a stop. (It was an old beater bike, so he didn't care.)

This is what I'm looking at so far:

Make model height weight
Ducati Monster 696 30.3 355
Suzuki GSX650F 30.3 476
BMW F650 GS 30.7 387
Suzuki Katana 600 30.9 458
Kawasaki Ninja 650 31.1 393
Suzuki SV650SF 31.5 379
Suzuki GSXR600 31.9 363
Kawasaki zzr 600 32.3 377

I pulled this list together from the manufacturers' websites and I was focusing on height and weight. I'll mostly be using it around town and for commuting back and forth to work - about an hour drive through country roads.

I'm leaning towards the sports bikes because we have some nice curvy roads around here and, well, the sports bikes just look like fun. However, I don't want to be forced to lean too far forward while riding because I do plan on taking it for longer trips too.

If you see anything on the list that screams "nooooooooooooooooo" feel free to say so. Opinions and alternate suggestions welcome.

Link Posted: 6/1/2008 11:11:50 AM EST
Wait for it.......wait for it......
Link Posted: 6/1/2008 11:15:54 AM EST
Wait for what? "SV 650" or "get back in the kitchen and fix me a sammich"?
Link Posted: 6/1/2008 11:19:10 AM EST

Originally Posted By Persephone:
Make model height weight
Suzuki SV650SF 31.5 379

I narrowed down your list a bit. SV650 is a very popular, good choice for new riders, and what I would recommend.

With a 31" seat height, you are not going to be able to flat foot on both sides of the bike at the same time, as there is width at the seat that will be taking up some of your inseam.