Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/25/2013 10:44:39 AM EDT
I know we have a lot of pilots on the board, and a lot of you are more in tune with today's contracts, seniority lists and overall "career expectations"

Of the big 4, which is best?  

Leave out Fedex/UPS, because they are just too hard of a nut to crack, unless you have connections.

Also, leave out the little ones.  They may well turn out to be a good bet, but are too speculative.  
Kit Darby told me they never survive.  

Link Posted: 7/25/2013 10:49:00 AM EDT
[#1]
I have no experience but I would think SouthWest would be a good one on job security just because they are usually cheapest.

Lots of Americans like cheap these days.
Link Posted: 7/25/2013 10:53:05 AM EDT
[#2]
American United and Delta will all have a lot of retirements coming up. United and American need to work through their mergers, but you'd be at the bottom of everyone once it's all settled.

Apply to all and go with the one that hires you. That's about as a reliable way to pick an airline as any.
Link Posted: 7/25/2013 11:01:33 AM EDT
[#3]
The one your family holds the majority of stock in.

ETA nvm I see you're a pilot ... Buy plane and start own airline
Link Posted: 7/25/2013 11:02:40 AM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
American United and Delta will all have a lot of retirements coming up. United and American need to work through their mergers, but you'd be at the bottom of everyone once it's all settled.

Apply to all and go with the one that hires you. That's about as a reliable way to pick an airline as any.
View Quote

I have to agree.  Delta and United have decent contracts, but if American/US Airways called first, I'd most likely say yes.
Link Posted: 7/25/2013 11:05:40 AM EDT
[#5]
OP, what position are you looking for? I am assuming pilot, but it could be another.