Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/13/2005 6:31:32 PM EDT
I am a 25 year old professional who is on the fast track to make partner in my firm and a six figure salary.  I have the traits that make this possible including a personality which is lacking in my profession.  I have been advancing well above the pace of my peers and handed repsonsibility most dont get until the age of 30.  I like my job, its fun at times and I am good at it.  It is intellectually challening which I do really like.  However I cannot envision myself doing this for years on end, I just dont see myself happy doing it.  I do not love my job.  

I had always wanted to be a law enforcement officer.  While in college, I received some sage advice from my father who I greatly admire and respect.  When I told him what I wanted to do, he simply said "I am not wasting $120,00 for you to throw your life away to become a police officer.  You are to smart for that and it would be a waste of your talents and your life."  Yes he paid for school, his father booted him out when he was 18 and he wanted to not do the same for his children.   Anyways, I did not become a LEO but instead followed my fathers path.  As I said before, its not like I dont like my job or profession, I just know its not for me.  

So my questions for you are this, because these are what matters to me.

1.)  What do you like about your job?
2.)  What is the worst part of your job?
3.)  If you had it to do over, would you become a LEO again?  Or would you honestly choose a different career path?

When I have kids, I would like my wife to stay home with them as they grow.  I think this is so much better for them.

4.)  If you have children, do you find it hard being a LEO and having to raise kids at the same time?