Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
11/22/2017 10:05:29 PM
Posted: 9/16/2004 6:29:53 AM EST
For those of you going huh? Windows pe is a version of windows xp. It only shipped to big time corperate admins and guys in charge of massive systems. (For free mind you!) Small time admins like me can't get there hands on an official microsoft copy. If you have an official copy or know where I can get my hands on one tell me please, I need the tools.
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 6:30:55 AM EST
Windows 'pe'?

Haven't heard about it. I have an MSDN subscription (meaning I can download all of MS's platforms and such), and I haven't seen 'pe' on there.
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 6:32:21 AM EST
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 6:35:25 AM EST
The pre-release Windows XP was codenamed Whistler. There was originally a pre-release called Windows XP Personal Edition, but it because known as Windows XP Home Edition when it was released. It was shipped to Microsoft Solution Providers for testing during the beta phase, just as Windows NT 4.0 and Windows 2000 were.

Remember the Alamo, and God Bless Texas...
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 6:37:57 AM EST
Windows pe is the beginning boot load up for longhorn. Basicly the new windows comming out you just throw in the cd, windows starts up and you can install windows or have a graphical environment to do tools. Windows pe right now is basicly a boot disk cd that is a scaled down version of windows xp. Think all the linux boot cds that are a gui but windows. It also has a tool that allows you to custom make your own winpe cds and store the isos. Do a search in microsoft.com for winpe and you'll find all the jucy details.
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 6:39:42 AM EST
[Last Edit: 9/16/2004 6:40:53 AM EST by Section_Leader]
Forgot to add winpe = Windows Preinstilation Environment

www.microsoft.com/licensing/programs/sa/support/winpe.asp
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 6:41:09 AM EST

Originally Posted By Section_Leader: