Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
10/20/2017 1:01:18 AM
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 8/14/2005 2:08:47 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 8/14/2005 2:43:04 PM EDT by Old_Painless]
I had a few young men from my church ask me if I'd give them a little training in Pistolcraft.

I have had lots of years of experience an a Pistol, Rifle, and Shotgun Instructor and three trips to Thunder Ranch. They said that they would like to learn some things that were taught at Thunder Ranch, but they did not have the time or money to go for a whole week at this time.

They are fairly new to the game and wanted to learn, so, of course, I said that I'd be glad to help them.

Here we are at the range on the line. I am teaching them the 4 step method to draw and fire their weapon.

I taught them to perform either a type A, B, or C response to command. Here we are firing.

I stressed that "You can't miss fast enough to win a firefight". They did a fine job and shot tight groups on their targets.

As usual, we spent a lot of time loading magazines and, in this Texas heat, drinking plenty of water.

In this drill, I had them lay their pistols down and turn their backs. I set their weapons up with a failure; either a stovepipe, an empty chamber, or a lose magazine, etc.

On my command, they had to turn around, run up to their pistol, and try to fire it.

When it failed, they had to do a Tap, Rack, and Bang to defeat the bad guy.

They were quick studies and learned and performed the drills well.

We all had a good time and I hope I have encouraged three new members of our sport.

Never miss a chance to encourage new shooters. They are the life of our sport.

Link Posted: 8/14/2005 2:17:04 PM EDT
Good way to spend a Sunday afternoon.
Link Posted: 8/14/2005 2:21:42 PM EDT
Very practical. Nice!

Balming
Link Posted: 8/14/2005 2:27:33 PM EDT
Great drills! How much previous handgunning experience have they had prior to performing these drills?

HH