Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 6
Posted: 8/7/2014 2:39:56 PM EDT
After 14 years in the United States, I proudly took the Oath of Allegiance and became a United States citizen

TL;DR version: America...fuck yeah!!

It's been a long journey. I arrived here in May 2000 with literally a suitcase full of clothes and some small personal effects. My first job interview was at WorldCom on, of all days, September 11th, 2001 - in fact the first tower fell while I was being interviewed. It was a day that fundamentally changed many people's lives, and it was certainly a turning point in mine. I was offered the job, WorldCom went bankrupt before I could even start, and the recession that followed made it very tough for a high school dropout (family reasons) with self-taught I.T. skills to find any kind of work.

So I made my own job. With a few hundred bucks I started my own web hosting business and pounded the pavements getting as many local clients as I could. To make a long story short, the business thrived, and in 2007 I sold it and I was able to put a good down payment on a house and make a substantial investment in another business. Today I own and operate 4 businesses of my own along with having part-ownership in another. I provide employment for 6 people, I'm blessed with a wonderful girlfriend and her warm, loving family, and I honestly couldn't be happier. Only in America!

That was only part of what changed for me on that fateful day though. Remarks were made while I was at WorldCom by guys wanting to go home, grab a rifle, and start fighting whoever did this to their country. Not "what is the government going to do?". No. This was personal to them. They didn't care WHY it happened so much as they cared WHO did it and WHOSE asses they needed to kick. It awakened something in me. Part knowledge that government couldn't keep me safe, and part desire to be in a position to do it for myself.