Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 2/21/2006 10:45:58 AM EDT

Ok so I'm a n00bie with most things regarding guns but I'm trying to learn as fast as I can. I'm just learning about the difference between supernonic and subsonic rounds.

When I shoot my WWB .45 ACP how much of the bang is from gun powder and how much is a mini sonic boom? Or is this just a silly question because I don't understand what I'm talking about?

Of maybe another way of answering this question is with a chart on decibels from super- and subsonic rounds. Anyone know of one?
Link Posted: 2/21/2006 10:52:20 AM EDT
INTERESTING........ Tag for replies
Link Posted: 2/21/2006 10:54:57 AM EDT

Depends at what altitude you're at. Georgia is about 600 ft above sea level and Iowa is 800 ft above sea level. We get more bang. Our farts and burps are much louder too.

Shok
Link Posted: 2/21/2006 10:55:20 AM EDT
I'm no expert, but I don't think you're going to hear the sonic boom unless it's reflecting off something, or the bullet is going past you. It's probably just the bang from the primer & powder.
Link Posted: 2/21/2006 10:55:36 AM EDT

Originally Posted By five2one:

Ok so I'm a n00bie with most things regarding guns but I'm trying to learn as fast as I can. I'm just learning about the difference between supernonic and subsonic rounds.

When I shoot my WWB .45 ACP how much of the bang is from gun powder and how much is a mini sonic boom? Or is this just a silly question because I don't understand what I'm talking about?

Of maybe another way of answering this question is with a chart on decibels from super- and subsonic rounds. Anyone know of one?

87 Percent.
Link Posted: 2/21/2006 10:57:06 AM EDT
Most standard .45 ACP rounds are subsonic. That means the boom you hear is the propellant explosion in the chamber.