Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/28/2001 4:44:20 PM EDT
I know I will get ranked on for this one, but I will ask anyways.  I already have a fine Remington 700 in .308 with an 18" barrel threaded for a M/B, shortened from a 26" PSS, H-S PST 59 stock, not the Remington LTR, H-S TG & mags, Trijicon Accupoint 3-9x40 triangle BAC.  I am thinking of using this rifle to mount a suppressor, and getting the Scout for general shooting, screwing around, and hunting.  I am a police officer, not a sniper, and neither will be in the trunk of my car.  I want to mount a scope, another Accupoint, in the standard location on the Scout.  I plan on getting the ten round kit and maybe the shell holder on the stock.  The Scout is what it is, a lighter rifle that can fit the bill.  I aslo honestly like the feel of the bolt and safety better than the 700.  From those that own/shoot the Scout, what are your feelings about it?  Have you had any big problems?  What do you like the best?
Link Posted: 6/28/2001 5:24:33 PM EDT
[#1]
The Styer Scout is a great rifle for the Wimmins
of the world!
Link Posted: 6/28/2001 5:31:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Aren't they like $2800? Buy 4 LEGP's and you'll still have $$$$ left for ammo.
Link Posted: 6/28/2001 5:33:39 PM EDT
[#3]
I don't think any bolt gun is worth that much.
An M1A Scout is half the price.
Link Posted: 6/28/2001 5:53:05 PM EDT
[#4]
Everything I've heard about the Scout has been good. They are big bucks though. The guy that I bought my SBS from uses the Scout to hunt deer and he said it perfectly fit his needs. Light, short and a natural pointer. He had no problems nailing a buck at about 320 yards, a one shot instant kill. I like the Safe Bolt System better too, along with that gigantor cocking handle. The extra mag holder and built in tripod is pretty cool too.

http://www.remtek.com/arms/steyr/scout/scout.htm