Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 1/20/2013 1:49:17 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/20/2013 1:50:15 PM EDT by 1999cutiger]
I am a South Carolina resident. I keep a pistol in the center console of my truck. Currently, it is rolling around in there with all my other crap and I want to organize and place the pistol in a mounted holster inside the center console in my truck.

Recently, I was told by a sheriff's deputy that it was not legal to do so. My question is this...if it's legal for me to have a pistol in my center console, why would it not be legal to place it in a mounted holster inside the center console?

I did not want to argue with this fella, but his comment does not make sense to me.

So, for all of you South Carolina LE and folks in the know, what am I legally allowed to do?
Link Posted: 1/20/2013 1:51:33 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/20/2013 1:52:09 PM EDT by outrage9]
The common cop on the street doesn't know the gun law. Ask 5 and you'll get 5 different answers. Its why I got my GA permit 20 years ago.

ETA, and I hate SC laws, how stupid is it as to where the hell you CAN put your gun???
Link Posted: 1/20/2013 1:54:07 PM EDT
You sure he knew you meant inside the console?

As you already know, keeping a pistol in the glove box or console doesn't require a CWP or anything. I can't see how mounting a holster inside your console would be any different. Now, mounting a holster on your steering column and slapping your pistol in it is a no-no, as far as I know. Maybe he thought you meant something like that?

<--Former SC resident.
Link Posted: 1/20/2013 1:57:05 PM EDT
Originally Posted By NY_Shooter: