Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/20/2006 4:10:13 PM EDT
OK, here's a little story I'd like to share.

I work in construction all over the US.  I happened to be working in Kansas City, KS a few years back and following the letter of their law, did not bring a firearm into KS with me.  I was styaing in Kansas City, MO where my PA CCW license is recognized but since KS has no CCW law I left my piece at home.

So one day when I really needed to get off the jobsite I volunteered to run out and pick up some material at a CCX transfer station.  Problem was that I own a car and I needed a truck.  No problem, one of the guys I work with named "John" said to take his truck.  Soon I was on my way.  

After picking up the material I was heading back to the jobsite but when I had gotten back into the truck my cellphone had fallen off of my belt and under the center console/armrest of the truck.  Someone was calling me and I figured I'd wait until a stoplight to search for it.  

I found the cellphone under the armrest along with a small Colt .380 pistol.  Seeing it there on the seat I didn't know what to do.  I was only 3 miles from the jobsite but started thinking of all the things that could go wrong.  I was in a pickup truck with out of state plates and I'm sure easy pickings for the local LE if I was speeding.  I slowed wayyyy down and drove like a granny until I got back.  

So, let's say I got pulled over for speeding, and somehow, local LE sees said pistol.  I am in someone else's truck and had absolutely no clue there was a concealed firearm in the vehicle.  How bad would my asshole would have hurt and how long would I have had to put up with Bubba?

"John" later told me that he always brings a pistol with him just in case.  While I respect that 100% its his ass not mine.  I just wish he would have told me there was a freakin gun in his truck because it would have been my ass.