Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/22/2002 6:46:13 PM EDT
Dear Sirs:

I am currently contemplating a major change in vocation. I have a 4 year degree in mass communications, and have been involved in radio and television for 14 years. It has been a 7 day a week, 12-16 hour a day high stress job the entire time.

I am burned out on it.

My family has recommended that I make a change and move to something completely different. In the back of my mind I have always been contemplating LE, and as I am now 32, I feel the clock ticking on how late I could actually get started in such a vocation.

In short, I am seriously considering becoming a cop.

I have numerous questions and would be very grateful for your responses and any other input you may feel important to consider. Thanks in advance for your help.

1. Would you advise going into city, state, county or federal LE
and why?

2. What part of the county would be the best area to relocate to
for a LE vocation and why?

3. What are the pay scales, benefits, retirement packages like?

4. Do you like or dislike being a LEO and why?

5. Would you become one again if you had the choice?

6. What are some of the requirements I can expect to have to
meet to apply for such positions?

7. Why did you become a LEO and have the reasons changed
over time?

8. Do you consider your job to be overly dangerous, or does the
media just always key on the bad stuff? Are some
jobs/locations more dangerous than others?

Again, thank you to any and all who are willing to spend a few minutes to respond to this post.

Link Posted: 1/22/2002 7:10:52 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 1/22/2002 7:45:30 PM EDT
[#2]
I'll answer in the order you posted them: