Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/25/2004 12:44:28 PM EST
I'm a freshman in college(University of North Dakota) and the way to get around up here is on a bike. I know for a fact that I dont want a chopper/moped/Harley style bike, but that I want a sport bike/crotch rocket. The only problem is I know NOTHING about bikes. Nothing other than what I've seen on American Choppers
So what are the ins and outs of the bikes? What do I look for? What is too much/not enough? I'm probably going to buy used because obviously I cannot afford the current new prices. What are things I should look for? What kind of gear should I buy? Are there any good websites out there that would cover info for the noob? Any suggestions?
Thanks a lot for the help. I look forward to being schooled!
Link Posted: 8/25/2004 12:52:51 PM EST
1) Take an MSF (motorcycle safety foundation) course, then get back to us.

2) Accept the fact that you are going to crash at some point.

3) Wear a helmet at all times.

4) Realize that wearing anything other than full leathers is just like riding naked. Jeans give you NO protection from road rash.

5) Insist that your stupid bimbo passengers wear safety gear too. You would feel like crap for the rest of your life if you kill somebody.

6) Have fun, don't let the anti-bike pussies freak you out.

Former road racer and canyon carver,

-Z
Link Posted: 8/25/2004 12:53:09 PM EST
Buy a used 600, be it a Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki, or Yamaha.

The modern 600 "sport bikes" are:
CBR600R / F2, F3, F4
FZ 600, FZR600, YZF600, R6
600 Ninja, ZX6
GSXR600, RF600

The "other" 600's are:
600 Katana
600 Bandit

A used SV650 would be a great bike.
Link Posted: 8/25/2004 1:24:56 PM EST
Helpful info so far, thanks a lot! Like I said I know nothing so keep it coming if you're willing!
I appreciate it.
Link Posted: 8/25/2004 1:27:09 PM EST

Originally Posted By KA3B: