Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/19/2001 5:01:52 AM EDT
How many of you remember reciting the Pledge of Allegiance when you were in grade school?  I remember stating the pledge AND singing God Bless America or America the Beautiful every morning!

When was this practice officially stopped?

M.

Link Posted: 9/19/2001 5:22:17 AM EDT
[#1]
I remember saying the pledge every morning until the fifth grade.  After that itwas doen to once a week on Mondays.  I don't know how they do it anymore.  I graduated highschool in 1997.

ML
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 5:40:39 AM EDT
[#2]
At the school district I work for, all of the Elementary (k-5) school teachers recite the Pledge every morning. The Middle School (6-8) kids do not recite the Pledge.

As far as I know our High School District, which is separate from our Elementary District, does not recite the pledge.

Av
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 5:45:16 AM EDT
[#3]
The grade school my sons go to recite it.nothing makes my son prouder than holding the Flag.
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 5:56:24 AM EDT
[#4]
We did it all the way from K-12. I graduated from high school in '98.

Ian
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 6:46:56 AM EDT
[#5]
Always thought that was BS. Still do.
I recommned teaching american history that isn't some PC crap that makes our nation look bad. We've done far more good than bad but you'd never know it by reading the history books that they give our kids. There are alot of other things that could be done in school to instill a sense of patriotism.
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 7:14:51 AM EDT
[#6]
Kinda off topic, but I thought people might want to hear.

Right before the WTC attacks, we had some complaints from parents of kids who were not Americans moan and groan about saying the Pledge. They felt that since they were not from this country their kids should not have to recite the Pledge.