Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/19/2016 12:29:34 AM EDT
I have a gfi outlet in my downstairs bathroom. Lately the breaker has been tripping and cutting power to my three bathrooms.

Tonight the lights went out, the breakers aren't tripped, and the gfi has power to it. The upstairs sockets have power too, just no lights..

Diagnose my problem please?

Can a gfi have power to it, but not put power out to the lights?

I'm not an electrician, I will call one, I just need to make sure he isn't ripping me off..

If you want more info, let me know and I'll try to answer questions as best I can.

Thanks
Link Posted: 4/19/2016 6:40:13 AM EDT
Might be your GFI has gone bad. You can run power through them. That is how you can have GFI protection on all of your kitchen plugs. The GFI feeds the other plugs. If you have a volt meter you can test for voltage on both sides of it. If there is power to both sides something else is wrong.

Be careful when working with live wires.
Link Posted: 4/19/2016 7:54:31 AM EDT
GFCI usually isn't on lighting circuits.
Link Posted: 4/19/2016 9:45:14 AM EDT
I think it's picture time. Have you tried hitting the Test and Reset buttons just to make sure the GFCI receptacle isn't tripped? Have you flipped the breakers Off and back On? If you've checked both of those, it's time to does some diagnosing with a multimeter.