Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
9/16/2019 10:09:13 PM
Posted: 6/17/2014 6:33:40 AM EDT
I'm looking to start a new project and it will require lots of welding. Can anyone tell me what qualities/specs I should be looking for in a good welding helmet? More importantly, what should I avoid?

Link Posted: 6/17/2014 6:36:43 AM EDT
Miller.

Large viewing window. Auto dark, adjustable tint and delay. I have been using an older Miller for quite a few years. They are great equipment.
Link Posted: 6/17/2014 6:37:29 AM EDT
I'm not sure what qualifies as a "good" helmet but we do a decent amount of welding on all kinds of stuff and I bought one of those cheap auto helmets off eBay and it's been working great for 5-6 years and I don't have a single complaint. I think it was about $60.
Link Posted: 6/17/2014 6:45:38 AM EDT
It'll have Miller on it.
Link Posted: 6/17/2014 6:56:26 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 6/17/2014 6:57:44 AM EDT by ultramagbrion]
I still use the Jackson hood I bought off of the Matco truck back in the 90's with a small, 10 shade auto-dark screen .

I keep meaning to pick up a new one with a full-size screen , but something more important always pops up .
Link Posted: 6/17/2014 7:07:53 AM EDT
Optrel Satellite buy once cry once

I have been using one for years now and I have nothing but good things to say the only problem I have ever had is the headgear broke once (Snapon dealer warranteed it for me)

It is really versatile and super sensitive, grind mode is another nice feature. I have not worked in shop in a few years so now it is relagated to home use but if it broke I would get another

Link Posted: 6/17/2014 7:13:22 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 6/17/2014 7:14:54 AM EDT by bluduk15]
I'll try to zero in on qualities of a good helmet first, then the good brands.