Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/3/2002 12:33:31 PM EDT
Is there a source online to view average response times for home invasion calls (whether real home invasions or the possoms knocking over trashcans) in Los Angeles?

Most people I know are of the "cops are lazy" mentality, yet are strangely of the "I'll call 911 and hide under the bed" mentality.

Link Posted: 1/3/2002 12:44:14 PM EDT
[#1]
In my area response times for non priority report calls average 10 to 15 mins.

Priority calls are dispatched immediately and the responce time is limited only by distance and traffic conditions.

EMS factoisd to keep in mind when house shopping. Every speed bump slows EMS responce by 30 seconds. Live at the end of a street in a gated comminity with 10 speed bumps? add 5 mins to the time it will take police/fire/ambulance to get to your home.
Link Posted: 1/3/2002 12:54:58 PM EDT
[#2]
When I was an EMT any call with lights and sirens was a no-braker.  Speed bumps, Huge dips in the road, I swear we got airborne on more than one occasion.  The only things we slowed for were school zones, redlights, and heavy traffic.  Taxpayers are usually willing to pay for ambulances.  Ford F350 with a turbodisel.
Link Posted: 1/3/2002 1:00:33 PM EDT
[#3]
I'm thinking that it's a lot less than 900fps.
Link Posted: 1/3/2002 1:02:57 PM EDT
[#4]
As we all know, a single anecdote can suffice as proof of just about any point.  Therefore I'll offer this up:

On Christmas (well known for the peace and goodwill bit) I had to dial 911 to report a knock-down-drag-out fight outside of a restaurant near my home.   Some guy was beating the crap out of his wife, and the tactical situation was not one that I could have/should have intervened.  Police response was 2 cruisers in under 30 seconds.  And a third, 30 seconds after that.