Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/30/2009 5:42:56 PM EDT
I've been doing a lot of camping/hiking lately and soon to be hunting, can any of you recommend me a decent GPS for the outdoors? Last week I got lost for 5 hours way off trail, and I generally just like to bring a little food/water/knife/gun but i'm thinking I need myself a GPS now.

I don't want to spend a lot of money on it, thinking around 100 or so. I need to be able to set a point where my truck is and other way points and be able to easily find my way back to the way points. I'm a GPS noob, I just have a tom tom in my truck so I don't know if the outdoor ones work similarly or not.

Link Posted: 7/30/2009 5:46:04 PM EDT
[#1]
tag
Link Posted: 7/30/2009 5:47:25 PM EDT
[#2]
and for me too - I'd be curious to see if anyone has experience with one for hiking...
Link Posted: 7/30/2009 5:49:58 PM EDT
[#3]
Garmin eTrex Venture HC. Has a color screen. $125.00. I set waypoints where ever I travel. Links to satellites very fast.

Garmin Venture HC
Link Posted: 7/30/2009 5:52:02 PM EDT
[#4]
I recently picked up a Garmin GPSmap 60CSx and I like it.

Quoted:
and for me too - I'd be curious to see if anyone has experience with one for hiking...

I haven't hiked with mine but I did use it to plot the property line on a couple pieces of land.  I was able to add
the topo info for the areas as well.  Worked pretty slick.
Link Posted: 7/30/2009 5:53:48 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

Garmin eTrex Venture HC. Has a color screen. $125.00. I set waypoints where ever I travel. Links to satellites very fast.

Garmin Venture HC

+1

It has limited memory, but that has never been a problem for me.  It had enough memory for maps of most of Oklahoma and if I plan on being out of state I can just load the map I need.

Link Posted: 7/30/2009 5:57:02 PM EDT
[#6]
http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/site/us