Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/1/2001 1:26:45 PM EDT
I am a art teacher in a small town, but I love firearms and history.  The history department is just starting the WW1 unit and I volunteered to bring in my WW1 and WWII firearms.  He said that would be great, but we had to ask our principle.  She said that would be great so next week I'm bringing in about 15 rifles to show and tell!  I had planned on only brining in the WWI rifles but the History teacher thought it would be nice to see the change from WWI to WWII.  The students are excited about it and continue to ask me questions and I haven't even presented yet.  I had planned on only using about 15min, but now it is going to be about an hour for three different classes.
guns762
Link Posted: 5/1/2001 1:31:01 PM EDT
[#1]
WOOOHOOOOO!!!!!!!!

Take that ball and run with it!!!!!

You'll get a chance to introduce them to American firearms. I'm betting one or two WILL catch the fever from that.

Way to go.
Link Posted: 5/1/2001 1:40:16 PM EDT
[#2]
This is great, and just what today's kids need.  I'm sure more than one or two will catch the fever.  Way to go!
Link Posted: 5/1/2001 1:59:32 PM EDT
[#3]
I remember a few years ago when my little brother was still in high school.  To graduate he had to take a speech class and so he did an informative speech on how to break down and clean a rifle.  The rifle he brought in to demonstrate with was a Ruger Mini-14 with the factory folding stock.  Now like I said this was a few years ago and it was also in a rural Oregon school, but oh how times have changed!

It doesn't seem all that long ago that dads, and moms too, would drive to school to pick up their kids in the family truck with a deer rifle right in the rifle rack in plain sight.  Now days kids are getting expelled for drawing pictures of guns or bringing "weapons" to school like the chain on a Tweety keychain!